Stormwater Pollution Prevention Information

NPDES Phase 2 Permit Information

Stormwater Management Program Plan (SMPP) was developed by the Village of Libertyville based off a SMPP template provided by the Lake County Stormwater Management Commission. The purpose of the SMPP is to meet the minimum standards required by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Phase II program. Federal regulations through the USEPA require that all Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s), partially or fully in urbanized areas based on the 2000 census, obtain stormwater permits for their discharges into receiving waters. There are many different types of MS4s including municipalities, park districts, drainage districts, township highway departments, counties and county and state transportation departments (LCDOT and IDOT). The SMPP describes the procedures and practices that can be implemented by the Village of Libertyville toward the goal of reducing the discharge of pollutants within stormwater runoff in order to comply with Federal standards.  Click Here for the Stormwater Management Program Plan

Notice of Intent 

Village of Libertyville Notice of Intent for Renewal of General Permit for Discharges from Small MS4 CLICK HERE

Annual Reports to IEPA


Click on the link below to view the report. 

2022 Report

2021 Report

2020 Report 

2019 Report 

2018 Report

2017 Report 

Des Plaines River Watershed Workgroup 

The Des Plaines River Watershed Workgroup (DRWW) is a voluntary, dues paying organization with a mission to bring together a diverse coalition of stakeholders to work together to improve water quality in the Des Plaines River and its tributaries in a cost effective manner to meet Illinois EPA requirements. Membership of the DRWW consists of communities, Publically Owned Treatment Works (POTWs), and other interested parties. The Workgroup consists of Agency members represented by NPDES permit holders, Associate members which are non-permit holding organizations, and individual members. The DRWW will monitor water quality in the river and tributaries, prioritize and implement water quality improvement projects, and secure grant funding to offset the cost. Monitoring data will allow for a greater understanding of the water quality impairments, identify priority restoration activities, and track water quality improvements. The Workgroup is committed to an approach for attaining water quality standards that focuses on stakeholder involvement, monitoring, and locally led decision-making based on sound science. Des Plaines River Watershed Workgroup (DPRWW) 

North Shore Water Reclamation District 

The North Shore Water Reclamation District (NSWRD) is the second largest sanitary district in Illinois, its service area encompasses an area from the Wisconsin border (north) to Lake-Cook Road (south) and from Lake Michigan (east) to I-94 toll way (west). The NSWRD serves a population of over a quarter million people. Communities served include Waukegan, Gurnee (east of I-94), Highland Park, Highwood, Lake Forest, Lake Bluff, Green Oaks, Bannockburn, North Chicago, Park City, Zion, Beach Park, Winthrop Harbor, Great Lakes, Fort Sheridan, part of Deerfield, and other unincorporated areas. The NSWRD also serves portions of Lake County outside its Service Area, including Grayslake, through an agreement with the County of Lake. North Shore Water Reclamation District (NSWRD)